The Tale of the Broken 100 Peso Bill

4 Sep

For those who have spent more than a day in Buenos Aires know far too well the unexplainable, absurd obsession with money. I’m not talking about people who are money-obsessed, but instead the actual action of the payment method.  Think about all the rules associated with attempting to pay for something… the Great Moneda Crisis of 2007, coins only on colectivos, exact change at kioscos, no change in chinos, small bills to taxi drivers, fake bills from taxi drivers, ATMs spewing out broken money, fake money, monopoly money. It’s exhausting.

I’ve gotten used to the fact that a store will most likely turn down a sale than give change, but my new issue is a relationship I have with an one-hundred bill that has a big bite taken out of the corner, which came directly out of an ATM, that is utterly impossible for anyone to accept.  I have been turned down 8 times in the past week, and this rejection is causing a blow to my self-esteem:

1. Chino supermarket 1
2. Chino supermarket 2
3. Coffee at Mercado Amenabar
4. Subte boletería
5. Pizza delivery guy
6. Sushi delivery guy
7. Laundry
8. Chino supermarket 3

I am starting to feel like Larry David in the Curb Enthusiasm Episode where Funkhouser (one of my all-time favorite characters) gives him a sweaty fifty dollar bill from his running shoe, and Larry finds it very difficult to use…

10 Responses to “The Tale of the Broken 100 Peso Bill”

  1. Tommy (ARG) September 5, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Sometimes i’m used to have those problems. Keep trying with the chino’s supermarket, they will eventually accept you that money. I’m a big fan of Curb your enthusiasm but i didn’t see that episode, thanks for that!.

    • razalba September 6, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

      I know… I’m trying the chinos, strategically picking the ones with the more inexperienced cashiers. The whole episode of curb is very funny.. I highly recommend it!

  2. iheartbsas September 6, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    How are you handing over the note? Thumb over bitten corner or is it out there for all to see? We need to eat somewhere where the meal is ridonk exy and we give it over as a tip, they can’t/won’t refuse it that way right?

    • razalba September 6, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

      yes, there needs to be a massive resto cuenta and the bill to be crumbled in the middle of a big pile of monaaaay

  3. Pearl September 8, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    …wondering when you got that bill…looks familiar.

  4. Zork September 9, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    It’s impossible, no matter how you fold it or try to hide it, it’s a 100 pesos bill! NO ONE will just take it without first making sure it’s not a fake or it’s not broken or anything!

  5. Gustavo September 9, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    Change it in Banco Nacion. They´ll send it to banco Central

    • razalba September 13, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

      thanks for the tip… I’m trying to make a record how much rejection I can get from a 100 peso bill.

  6. Anonymous September 11, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    I had the same problem. Just returned it to the bank and told them their ATM gave me the bill. It was not a problem at all but that would not have made an interesting post.

  7. Daniela January 8, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    I know a considerable amount has passed and you probably have disposed that note, but Siga La Vaca or any tenedor libres, the meal cost like 80 p’s or so, I’d just drop the 100 note and peace out. I did that when I had received a fake when at some tendeor libre in Puerto Madero…

Leave a Reply

