Jalá!

23 Sep

I am very proud of my jalot (challahs) that I made for Rosh Hoshana… I always blame the lack of quality ingredients and my barely equipped kitchen as an excuse why my cooking experiments don’t work out… this is probably the best abroad challah I have made to date – could use a little more flavor, but over all nice consistancy.
I ditched the old challah recipe I had (sorry mom) and found a new one online at one of my favorite blogs: http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/09/best-challah-egg-bread/. I tried to follow it the best I could given lack of any proper measuring apparatuses…
It turned out pretty well even though I burnt the top a bit because I had to flip it over last minute…that’s what happens when there is just two heat settings on the stove: off and flames.

2 Responses to “Jalá!”

  1. Anonymous September 30, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    your jala looks good. i tell my friends to make some.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Challah Baking Extravaganza | Pick up the fork - August 21, 2010

    […] Jewy-ness has to come out sometimes. After much tweaking, and failed attempts, my Challah recipe is starting to turn out absolutely perfect. It’s good to make this while […]

Leave a Reply

